Forum Limited Support: The forums are a means of exchanging helpful information, however due to limited staffing we may not be able to respond to support requests. For more prompt support, please head over to the Solution Center

The selected simulator is not installed  [SOLVED]

Official Support Forum
Post Reply
User avatar
cslawren
Verified Customer
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 3:13 pm
Reputation: 0
United States of America

The selected simulator is not installed

Post by cslawren » Mon Aug 17, 2020 12:43 pm

Hey everyone. I purchased KDEN via Flightbeam directly since I was a P3D user that had it there. I wanted to use the coupon code. When I download and install Contrail and attempt to install the add-on, Contrail reports that it can't find MSFS, which is odd because I was just playing it. This seems to be blocking me from actually installing the airport. Any tips?

User avatar
Mir // Flightbeam
Flightbeam Commander
Posts: 2944
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:26 pm
Reputation: 105
United States of America

Re: The selected simulator is not installed

Post by Mir // Flightbeam » Mon Aug 17, 2020 1:15 pm

Thanks for letting us know, which version of MSFS do you have? (Steam, MS store, etc).

Also, did you install it in a different location, or the default location?
Image

User avatar
cslawren
Verified Customer
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 3:13 pm
Reputation: 0
United States of America

Re: The selected simulator is not installed

Post by cslawren » Mon Aug 17, 2020 1:30 pm

Mir // Flightbeam wrote:
Mon Aug 17, 2020 1:15 pm
Thanks for letting us know, which version of MSFS do you have? (Steam, MS store, etc).

Also, did you install it in a different location, or the default location?
Hi Mir. MS Store for mine, installed the application on the C drive but installed the bulk of the content in a custom directory on a different drive via content manager.

User avatar
29Palms
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 12:33 pm
Reputation: 20
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Germany
Contact:

Re: The selected simulator is not installed

Post by 29Palms » Mon Aug 17, 2020 2:01 pm

Hi there!

Did you close MSFS one time after it installed completely before launching Contrail?
The app checks different locations for paths to your library. In your case it obviously couldn't find it.
If you could search the following directory for a file called "UserCfg.opt":

%LOCALAPPDATA%\Packages\

(You can just paste that in your explorer, hit enter and then search for the file)

If that doesn't reveal it, the following as well: %APPDATA%
Best regards,
Lars

User avatar
rick66
Verified Customer
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:52 pm
Reputation: 1
New Zealand

Re: The selected simulator is not installed

Post by rick66 » Mon Aug 17, 2020 3:07 pm

Have the same problem, Running MSFS from Microsoft store, Installer says sim not found? And i have the sim installed on a seperate m.2 drive.
Last edited by rick66 on Mon Aug 17, 2020 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
i7 8086K(Delidded@5.2),ASUS ROG Maximus X Formula, Gigabyte AORUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti, 32GB DDR4, Oculus Rift S

User avatar
Mir // Flightbeam
Flightbeam Commander
Posts: 2944
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:26 pm
Reputation: 105
United States of America

Re: The selected simulator is not installed

Post by Mir // Flightbeam » Mon Aug 17, 2020 3:09 pm

We've discovered the likely issue, Lars will issue an update shortly. Thanks for your patience :)
Image

User avatar
29Palms
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 12:33 pm
Reputation: 20
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Germany
Contact:

Re: The selected simulator is not installed  [SOLVED]

Post by 29Palms » Mon Aug 17, 2020 3:19 pm

Thanks for reporting this guys!
I have just added a wildcard selector to discover possible simulator paths.

The new version has just been released:
1. Download Contrail from your Flightbeam Shop account - this will install v1.0.2
2. Alternatively, launch Contrail, the update will be downloaded in the background. Close it and give it 1-2 minutes. When you launch it again, it should be the latest version (v1.0.2 displayed at the top)
Best regards,
Lars

User avatar
rick66
Verified Customer
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:52 pm
Reputation: 1
New Zealand

Re: The selected simulator is not installed

Post by rick66 » Mon Aug 17, 2020 3:51 pm

Thank you Team.. Can confirmed 100% success with installation.. Looking forward to the others coming online soon.
i7 8086K(Delidded@5.2),ASUS ROG Maximus X Formula, Gigabyte AORUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti, 32GB DDR4, Oculus Rift S

User avatar
29Palms
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 12:33 pm
Reputation: 20
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Germany
Contact:

Re: The selected simulator is not installed

Post by 29Palms » Mon Aug 17, 2020 3:53 pm

Thanks Rick, we are working relentlessly on it :)
Best regards,
Lars

User avatar
SammyH
Posts: 1580
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:12 am
Reputation: 96
Location: NAS Whidbey Island, WA
United States of America

Re: The selected simulator is not installed

Post by SammyH » Mon Aug 17, 2020 4:36 pm

Thank you, Rick.

Glad you are enjoying it.
Sammy Holmes
Flightbeam Staff

i7-8700K Coffee Lake 4.80GHz - EVGA GTX 1080ti SC2 - 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series (4x8GB) - GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 - EVGA 80+ Gold 1000 Watt PSU - Windows 10 Pro - Thermaltake Liquid Cooling - 1TB SSD - P3Dv4.5

User avatar
cslawren
Verified Customer
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 3:13 pm
Reputation: 0
United States of America

Re: The selected simulator is not installed

Post by cslawren » Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:21 pm

Yep, installed here just fine as well. Thanks everyone!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest